Jul 28, 2013

Posted by in Featured, Mobile, Reviews | 48 Comments

Cherry Mobile Skyfire 2.0 Review, your budget 5-inch quad-core phone

The Cherry Mobile Skyfire 2.0 has been overshadowed by the Omega HD 2.0 which was announced at the same time despite being the more affordable of the two. The Omega HD 2.0 was the first budget phone to sport a 5-inch HD screen with a quad-core MediaTek processor while Skyfire 2.0 has a qHD screen with a quad-core Qualcomm chip.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-01

Anyway, after using the Skyfire 2.0 for quite a some time, I would say that it deserves consideration if you’re looking for a big phone with decent specs without breaking your budget. Let me walk you through what you can get out of this phone.

Design

Every time I whip this phone out, the average person would think it’s the Samsung Galaxy S3 and S4, and I can’t blame them. It’s slim, has that same shape and rounded corners as the Galaxy S3/S4, but doesn’t have that physical Home button at front as everything’s covered in a scratch-resistant glass.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-02 Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-03

Below the 5-inch display and its relatively thin side bezels are the capacitive touch buttons for Menu, Home, and Back and above it is the 2-megapixel camera lens. On top you’ll find the microSUB port and the 3.5mm audio jack.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-04 Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-05

On the right side is the Power/Sleep button and on the left is the volume rocker which is a bit tiny to use with ease.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-06

The back has that glossy black finish treatment on its plastic panel that shouldn’t have any problems attracting prints and smudges. There’s a regular (not BSI) 8-megapixel autofocus camera situated at the center near the top and beside it is the LED flash.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-07

Pry the back panel open and you’ll find the 2 regular SIM slots, microSD slot, and a 2000 mAh battery.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-08

The CM Skyfire 2.0 feels good to hold. It’s not too light to feel fragile but it’s not burdensome to hold or put in your pocket, not unless you have small pockets. Because of its thin frame, the size is still small enough for easy one-handed use even for ladies. It’s a good-looking phone that you won’t mind showing off outside.

Display and UI

The SkyFire 2.0 has a 5-inch qHD IPS screen which gives us a 220 ppi pixel density. Picture quality is not as sharp as the Omega HD 2.0 but it still holds well on its own. Icons still appear sharp with proper color representations.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-09

It has lightly-skinned version of Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean so things are pretty standard. What I’m not so keen about is the non-customizable lockscreen. There only three unlock points for you, a regular unlock, unlock to camera, and unlock to Google. Wish I can do unlock to messages or unlock to music.

Dual SIM

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-10

This phone supports dual-SIM but only the 1st SIM slot supports a 3G connection so place your SIM accordingly. Both SIMs will be active at the same time so you can receive messages and calls on both at all times. To send a message or make a call, there are corresponding buttons for each SIM on the interface.

Performance

Powering the Skyfire 2.0 is a 1.2GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 200 processor which is a budget quad-core chip that shouldn’t be compared to the high-end quad-core chips out there. With a 1GB RAM, it performs smoothly for the most part but you will experience some hiccups every now and then. Viewing the message list will lag a bit, launching a new browser tab won’t be instantaneous, but these are things you can live with.

skyfire-quadrant

Synthetic benchmark tool Quadrant gave this phone a score of 4350

For games, I tried Candy Crush where the screen is big enough to comfortably play with, Temple Run 2, and DeadZone. There are times that launching the game will result to messed up screens but closing and re-launching them would fix the issue. Gameplay on all three games were pretty smooth but I didn’t play them over a long duration so I can’t say if a game will eventually crash which is common to old CM phones with 512MB RAM.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-11 Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-12

Watching videos posed no problem except for the sound coming from the loudspeaker which is not that loud. In fact, I often miss some calls and messages when the phone is in my pocket even at high volume so I had to turn vibrate on. There were also a few times that when I slide to unlock to answer a call, it will hang up instead. Call quality is not hampered anyway once you get through.

Camera

The Skyfire 2.0 has an 8-megapixel camera at the back and while it doesn’t have a BSI sensor like what current camera phones are touting, it still takes good photos under well-lit conditions. It performs poorly in low-light though if you don’t enable the flash.

Cherry-Mobile-Skyfire-2.0-13

Here are a few sample shots taken with the Skyfire 2.0 for you check out.

[nggallery id=62]

I also find focusing to be a bit slow as well as taking the shot and saving it. Fortunately, there’s a “Speedily” mode which lets you shoot and save photos in the expense of a lower megapixel count and a 4:3 size.

Battery

This phone is outfitted with a 2000mAh battery that lasted me a day with 3G off, WiFi always on but not always connected and moderate amount of calls and text. Battery life will drastically shorten if you watch movies, play games and always connected on 3G.

Verdict

The Cherry Mobile Skyfire 2.0 won’t try to be anything but a trusty budget quad-core phone that will give you your money’s worth. Its design is something that you will still be proud to showoff. It may not have the latest specs of today’s local quad-core phones such as BSI cameras, HD display, high-tech glass, and higher internal storage but it’s inexpensive for its capability at just Php7,999.

Cherry Mobile SkyFire 2.0 Specs:
5-inch qHD (540×960) scratch-resistant capacitive display
1.2GHz quad-core Qualcomm MSM8625Q Snapdragon 200 processor
Adreno 203 GPU
Android 4.1 Jelly Bean
1GB RAM, 4GB internal storage (1.48GB usable), microSD up to 32GB
8MP autofocus camera with LED flash
720p HD video recording @ 30 fps
2MP front camera
Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Wi-Fi hotspot
Dual SIM, Dual Standby
FM Radio, Bluetooth with A2DP
Li-Ion 2,000mAh Battery
SRP: Php 7,999


  1. parang nalaos bigla mga 2.0 phones nila nung inannounce nila ang cosmos line. hehe.

  2. Thanks for the detailed review if Cherry Mobile Skyfire 2.0 with picture for reader reference like me, I hope that you have more detailed review of some our Local brand Smarthphone. More power! God bless!

  3. hello, uhmm sir ask ko lang po is there any good earphones na compatible sa Skyfire 2.0? cause I just had the phone today, I don’t like the sound quality of the default earphones that is provided in the package so and i tried pluggin my apple earpods and it seems they’re not compatible like I cant hear the voice in the music or something like that ;/ so any suggestions po?

    • cdr king na earphones ang compatible jan.

    • Some technique lang po for best earphone or whatsoever.. regardless the brand. try u dikit sa metal(Kutsara, Screw, paperclip,etc. somthing maliit na metal.) ung earpeace mo then compare kung anong earphone ung mas malakas ung magnet,. then voila. un ang sagot jan, mas malakas na magnetic eh mas maganda at malinaw.

  4. hey guys paano yung 3g ng phone how does it work? kasi nagunli ako yung may mobile internet na kasama but still it doesn’t work I can’t go to twitter or facebook or instagram or even search something in the mobile web browser or baka talagang di ako marunong. info please? thank you.

  5. hello… uhm my friend bought this phone last week and its really sleek and fast.. we thought that its kind of perfect until we tried connecting it into a wifi, unfortunately the phone had a hard time detecting a wifi signal and if it does detect something and we try to connect it, it does not really connect. it keeps on saying “saved” on the status just below the SSID name of the wifi hotspot. should we be concerned that we bought a defective stock? or it is normal on CM skyfire? and one more thing is the internal memory… the box says “4gb internal” but when we looked on the phone itself it is just “1.4gb” im confused! so that means that the pre-installed apps really consumed the 3.6gb? i dont think so.. because we already installed like 30 plus apps and it does not even consume up to 200mb….. please give me some explanations coz i cant sleep thinking over it haha XD sorry for the lengthy comment :)

    • first, that RAM thing is normal. it’s not just pre-installed apps but the OS that eats up space as well.

      as for the wifi, have you tried connecting other phones sa wifi? or is that the case for all wifi you encountered or jan lang sa place mo?

      • uhm uo tnry din namen ung galaxy y na iconnect tas aun mbilis ung connection nya unlike dun sa skyfire…

        but overall the phone is great hehe para xang s4 sa unang tingin..

        • mukhang may problem nga skyfire niyo kung ganun. sa akin no problems naman connecting sa wifi namin.

          • yeah my problema nga pre. kc ngeun ala nang sound ung phone. khit d nka maximum ung volume nya. tnry din namen nagfactory reset. wala pding nangyare. now im starting to hate this brand. pati halos lahat ng reviews ang panget ng service center ng CM sisirain nila imbis na aausin. mdaming gasgas at dead pixel sa screen. what a waste of money.

  6. Blink 207 says:

    magtatanong lang po if you know how to capture the screen shot using this phone?

  7. Hi ask LNG po DQ po magamit ang play store… hang gang s signing in LNG po.. help po please tnx

  8. Hi ask LNG po DQ po magamit ang play store… hang gang s signing in LNG po.. help po please tnx
    Eto pro sung nagaappear can’t establish reliable connection to the server this could be temporary problem or your device may not be provisioned for data service. If continues call customer care…2days p LNG po sky fire ko.. thanks

  9. Isa lang problema ko, everytime na ilipat ko yung app (forsquare, picframe, instagram etc) sa SD Card, nawawala yung app after reboot. Sayang 8GB na binili ko para lang sa phone na to. Tsaka bakit 1.4GB lang yung storage kahit ang sabi ay 4GB sa package?

  10. bat nag iinit yung likod…..
    ganun ba talaga???

  11. ask ko lng wat kaya ang problem ksi last night my husband was playing at nag low bat then nagcharge sya tas biglang ngopen then nag off, every time ioopen ko na ung phone i keeps on re starting. anu kaya ang problem ng skyfire ko?

  12. Smartphone or Android po ba yung SKYFIRE 2.0????

  13. Sheng Ureta says:

    Hi! Ask ko lang po about sa pag ddownload ng app sa google play, bakit po kaya napaka baga? 4MB lang ang size tas it takes me 10mins bago mag download? Mabilis naman po wifi connection namin and triny ko na rin na clear history ang google play. Pag movies or songs ang dinadownload ok naman sya pero pag sa google play ang bagal tas habang nag ddownload lumabalabas palagi sa notification na starting download etc. Ganto po ba tlga? Help!

  14. anung year inintroduce yung skyfire?,,thanks

  15. ask lang naka bili ako ng skyfire last week lang,ang problem nya bigla na lang namamatay tapos mag boo-booth ulit,ano po kaya problema

  16. may update version po ba skyfire 2.0

  17. nag buy po ako cherry mobile skyfire 2.0 last nov.
    sa specs ng cam 8.0mp daw, but when you compute the shot lumalabas
    ng 5mp lang ito. dinala ko ito sa cherry mobile service center in sm north edsa, wala sila maisagot kung bakit ganun.hindi daw nila alam
    sa production nadaw ito ng cherry. sabi ko hindi dapat ganun, isa sa mga pina iinganyo nila yun mega pixel ng cam. pero hindi naman tama
    yun specs nila sa unit. sabi ko puede sila e complain sa dti, sagot naman ng samin ng girl okey lang daw na i complain sa DTI. ask ko po baka alam nyo kung bakit ganun? thankz

    • baka naman sa production nung unit..maybe napagpalit ung cam nyo sa ibang cam. hehe. naisip ko lang. kasi okay naman ung cam ng aken eh .. dapat nirequrst nyo na pltan ung unit nyo qng abot pa sa warranty.

  18. how to turn of the shutter sound of skyfire?Please do reply thanks po :)

  19. pano ba iadjust ang audio ng skyfire 2.0?mhina kasi sounds kahit naka full na.

  20. Pia Andrea says:

    Hi! Pano po ba maaalis un vibration sa messages sa cm skyfire 2.0? Everytime na mag type ako message thru text e nagba vibrate po e, how po ba un mawawala or off? Tnx! :)

  21. Hi tanong ko lang kasi pag nag pplug ako ng headset na may microphone hindi gumagana yung mic ng headset pag nagkakabit naman ako ng earphones na walang mic hindi din gumagana yung mouthpiece nun phone.. bakit ganun? Sa mga ibang phones dba gumagana pa din mic kahit na walang mic yung headset..

  22. im planning to buy skyfire. but after reading all comments parang na discourage akong bumili. :(

  23. sir paano po yung sa indicator ng skyfire 2.0? di po ba umiilaw? tsaka paano po mag screen shot ng skyfire 2.0? pki.sagot po sir. salamat.. :D

  24. Hi! How should i turn off vibrate on its android keyboard? thanks I guess wala sa settings…

  25. may led light po ba to for messages

  26. hello po, ask lng po ako kung compatible ang micro SD HC sa skyfire 2.0? thanks :)

  27. Im planning to buy this now that it’s 2014. kawawa namn ung mga bumili nito ng 2013 kasi ngaung 2014 its sooo cheap… now that its only 5,999.. pero ok na cguro un kasi nabili na din lng ninyo… pero ok parin ba ito?

  28. bakit ganon hndi ko maconnect sa pc ung skyfire2.0 ko..everytime na icoconnect ko sya laging nag pefailed ung ppag iinstall nya ng driver

Leave a Reply