Samsung Galaxy 5 Review

I’ve been using the Samsung Galaxy 5 (i5503) for more than a week now and the overall experience was really great”¦ for a small smartphone that is. In fact, I find it more enjoyable to use than the Android 1.6 Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 which I was previously using.

Samsung Galaxy 5

The Galaxy 5 i5503 is probably the cheapest branded Android phone out there. If you want to see the specs compared to other smartphones in its class, you might want to read this post.

Read on for our review of this little Android smartphone that could.


The Samsung Galaxy 5 doesn’t look like a smartphone at all. In fact, people often mistake it for just another Samsung Corby phone. But it’s not just another Corby phone, it’s a Corby on steroids!

The plastic feel makes this one cheap-looking but very light phone. It has a glossy finish that attracts fingerprints like nobody’s business. There’s a chrome bar around the phone to add some sense of style.

Samsung Galaxy 5 Samsung Galaxy 5

On top is just the 3.5mm audio jack. On the left side is the volume control that also doubles as the control for camera zoom. Beside it is the micro USB port. At the back you can see the lens for its 2mp fixed-focus camera.

Samsung Galaxy 5 Samsung Galaxy 5

For the main buttons, the Galaxy 5 combines the typical Android buttons (Menu, Home, Back and Search) with the 3 Corby buttons (Call, D-pad, End Call/Sleep) That totals to 7 buttons which is a bit of an overkill for a small smartphone. It’s even confusing for me at times. I often mistake the Sleep button with the Cancel or Back button and vice versa.

Samsung Galaxy 5

One thing of note here is the location of the microSD slot which is at the side when you take off the back panel. With this placement, you don’t have to turn off and take out the battery just to access your microSD card.


With its 2.8-inch capacitive touchscreen, it is the smallest screen I’ve seen on an Android phone. With its small screen comes a small display resolution at only 240 x 320 pixel compared to the 320 x 480 resolution of phones with 3-inch screens.

Samsung Galaxy 5

Despite the small screen resolution, the display doesn’t look bad at all. In fact, it looks a little better than the HTC Wildfire who has the same display resolution on a 3.2″ screen. Do note that it doesn’t do multi-touch but it supports Samsung’s Live wallpapers.

Samsung Galaxy 5

Just like other small Android phones out there, it will have problem with apps not made for a small screen. I always use Chomp SMS as my messaging app and due to the small screen, the buttons on it are cut off.


The processor on the Galaxy 5 is an ARM 600MHz which is very adequate for running the Android 2.1 OS. However, you might experience speed problems with nifty Android games (like Angry Bird) with the lack of some sort of graphics accelerator.

Samsung Galaxy 5

Aside from that, the browser, social networking apps, UI navigation and other phone features run perfectly on the Galaxy 5.

For some reason though, it just wouldn’t connect on my D-Link WiFi router when my other wireless devices can. I was able to use the WLAN at the malls though for convenient and free internet.

Message Composing

Major problems people experience on a small touchscreen phone is typically the keyboard. The Galaxy 5 has a QWERTY keypad for both portrait and landscape mode. What’s good about this keypad is that numbers and symbols can easily be used without switching to a different keypad.

Samsung Galaxy 5

What’s even great about the Galaxy 5 keyboard is the Swype feature. Swype is the fastest way to compose messages on a touchscreen keypad by just tracing your finger over the letters and letting the phone predict your word for you. Pretty handy if you keep on hitting the wrong letters due to its small screen.

For Tagalog words, you need to add the words in the dictionary simply by typing it normally before you can Swype them. I cannot highly stress how helpful this feature is especially on phones with a small display.


Camera and video feature is pretty basic and image results are pretty consistent for a 2 megapixel camera. Basically, you don’t want to use it too much if you aim to impress your friends with beautiful photos.

Here are some sample shots:

2010-10-16 17.59.25 2010-10-19 15.15.21 2010-10-23 08.30.14 2010-10-23 08.30.22 2010-10-24 06.01.07

It’s not that great but good enough for Facebook photos which you can easily upload once you add your Facebook account on the phone.

Battery life

Android smartphones are not known for their long battery life. Usually, on high-end phones the battery lasts for only 1 to 2 days on normal usage. On the Galaxy 5, I was able to use it for 4 days with WiFi on before having to charge it. It can probably last for 3 days if you have Data and Push always on.


Despite its plasticky-cheap feel and small screen, I still recommend the Samsung Galaxy 5 especially for those starting with Android. With its price, you don’t have to spend much just in case Android phones just won’t work with you.

Samsung Galaxy 5

I will leave you to discover the joy of having your Google accounts and social network sites integrated on the phone so you can easily sync calendar, mail and photos under the Google umbrella. With the Galaxy 5, you won’t have any problem doing all of these.

An Android under Php11k, I would choose the Galaxy 5 over other phones in the same price range like the Sony Ericsson X8 and the CM Nova. That Swype thing is something that I really enjoy using on a smartphone.

Samsung Galaxy 5 (i5503) Specs:

  • 600 MHz processor
  • Android OS, v2.1 (Eclair)
  • 2.8″ QVGA TFT capacitive LCD (240 x 320)
  • Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g, DLNA
  • HSDPA 7.2 Mbps
  • Bluetooth 2.1
  • 2MP FF w/o LED Flash
  • 170MB internal memory with support for, microSD (1GB included, up to 16GB)
  • A-GPS
  • 1200maH Li-On battery
  • SRP: Php10,980
  • Pingback: Tweets that mention Samsung Galaxy 5 i5503 Review, Specs, Price, Photos | Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines' Longest-running Technology Blog --

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy 5 Review | News |

  • Caloy

    Nice review! I have a bunch of questions, if you don’t mind:

    Can Swype be downloaded for Android devices that don’t have it (like the CM Nova) or is it a paid app (meaning we can’t buy it here in the Philippines, not yet anyway). Are there really that many significant apps that can’t be run on this phone? I was thinking of getting this phone to test the Android waters but I was initially put off by the idea that a lot of apps won’t work on this phone.

    The most important question I guess is this: Is it upgradable to Froyo? Thanks and keep up the good work!

    • ewoks_ph

      galaxy 5 sucks., it can hardly connect to 3g, even though network has 3g signal… very bad….

      • Tricia

        SHUT THE FUCK UP, ewoks_ph! Buy your own Android then if you don’t like Galaxy 5 you freak!

  • Caloy

    Nice review! I have a bunch of questions, if you don’t mind:

    Can Swype be downloaded for Android devices that don’t have it (like the CM Nova) or is it a paid app (meaning we can’t buy it here in the Philippines, not yet anyway). Are there really that many significant apps that can’t be run on this phone? I was thinking of getting this phone to test the Android waters but I was initially put off by the idea that a lot of apps won’t work on this phone.

    The most important question I guess is this: Is it upgradable to Froyo? Thanks and keep up the good work!

    (sorry if this is a double post, I couldn’t see my earlier post)

    • Calvin

      if there’s a swype in the android market then it’s not the real thing. they had it before as a beta but they pulled it out. as far as i know, it’s phone dependent not OS. the HD2 is on winmo 6.5 but you can add Swype onto it. check for more info.

      The usual productivity apps would run on the Galaxy 5. you’ll have problems with games that require lots of power.

      not sure with Froyo yet but 600MHz is still capable of running Froyo. Had to ask Samsung if they have plans in porting Froyo on the Galaxy 5.

      • Caloy

        Thanks for the reply!

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy Player Aims for iPod Touch Audience()

  • Pingback: Can anyone give me a TAGALOG article immediately? | Best Abuse Books()

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy 5 Review | Battery News Magazine()

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate Coming Soon to Telus Mobility | Blog Network()

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy 5 Review | Digital Camera Product Reviews()

  • Pingback: AndroidInfoSite » Blog Archive » T-Mobile UK launching Samsung Galaxy Tab this November()

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy 5 Review()

  • Rj Lonod

    Awesome Review.. I think Samsung Galaxy 5 is better than LG Optimus but it has a small screen and i dont like the hardware buttons. It’s good that it has Touchwiz 3.0 and Android 2.1, I dont like it’s camera.

    • Calvin

      The LG Optimus (first one) has resistive touchscreen and for a smartphone, that really sucks IMHO.

  • Pingback: » Samsung Galaxy 5 Review()

  • iPhone Applications Reviews

    wow . cheapest android in the market .. but i wish camera should be 3.2 or 5 mp

  • Pingback: Unboxing the Samsung Galaxy 5 i5503 | Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines' Longest-running Technology Blog()

  • genoshaft

    I really like Samsung Phones. Mine is a Corby Pro phone.

    • technoholic

      i too luv samsung fones.. i hv a corby 3653.. luv its capacitive touchscreen at such a cheap price.. galaxy 5 can easily be mistaken 4 a corby!! only cons wid samsung is dat dey give poor battery lyf.. ma corby only lasts 2.5 days widout any use of music or camera or web or gaming.. now thats awfull!!

  • Pingback: Samsung Galaxy 5 Review | Computer Networks()

  • Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide 2010: Basic cell phones | Android Phones Helps and News()

  • Pingback: Xperia(TM) X10 Voted Sony Ericsson Fans’ Favourite Handset | iphone vs Android vs Windows phone 7()

  • Pingback: FoliX FX-Clear Displayschutzfolie für Samsung Galaxy | Handys Tipps()

  • Pingback: Lastest Cheapest Htc Android Phone News | Best Htc Android Phone - cheapest htc android phone | google android phone htc()

  • Vin

    Thanks for this review. Now I know what to buy to test if Android is for me or not. I was thinking of buying HTC Wildfire and after reading this review I think I rather buy Samsung Galaxy 5.

    Great review!


    • Vin

      By the way, what is the current default OS for Samsung Galaxy 5? Eclair or Froyo?

      • ado54


      • Calvin

        it’s upgradeable to Froyo na by the way. just head to a samsung shop to have it upgraded.

        • Vin

          Really? is the upgrade free? or can I do it on my own?


        • Calvin

          It’s free but you have to bring it to Samsung, at least that’s what their sales rep told me when i asked if i can do it on my own.

          • SRNMURTHY


          • SRNMURTHY

            WILL IT SUPPORT IT..??

  • Pingback: PTB's Calvin Lo guested at ANC | Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines' Longest-running Technology Blog()

  • Pingback: Cherry Mobile Nova Specs, Review, Price, Photos | Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines' Longest-running Technology Blog()

  • Pingback: Cherry Mobile Nova Review | TechRunner()

  • ipaz

    calvin may you post a review about the social hub of this galaxy 5, i already read all the reviews of this phone but i want to clear hear its SNS part


    • Calvin

      i’ve used the galaxy s and galaxy 5 but i haven’t really tinkered with the social hub that much because i don’t have data always on.

      it just integrates your SNS contacts to your phone contacts so you would be updated with status, events, etc. it’s cute but it gets old pretty fast. i’d rather have the facebook android app if i want to do FB.

      Galaxy 5 has this feed and updates widget that pulls stuff off your registered SNS accounts but i also don’t use it because of the small screen. you can only see 1 or 2 feed entry at a time. pretty bad if you follow a lot of people in twitter.

    • ipaz


  • ipaz

    calvin may you post a review about the social hub of this galaxy 5, i already read all the reviews of this phone but i want to clear hear its SNS part

    Thanks a lot!

    • Calvin

      i really didn’t use the social hub on both galaxy 5 and galaxy s. from what i understand it just integrates your contacts with their social networking accounts so you can easily send them message, see their updates, etc.

      may feeds and updates widget ang galaxy 5 for twitter, facebook, etc. news feeds pero maliit ang screen so hindi rin ganun kauseful especially if you follow a lot of people.

  • Wolf

    do you thngk that it will top the Samsung Galaxy S….?

    • Calvin


  • ipaz

    compare to optimus one of LG that will blast on nov. 13, hows the better you think? eclair vs. froyo? 2.8″ vs. 3.2″?

    • ipaz

      i mean who’s better?

    • Calvin

      froyo na siguro along with the bigger and better screen display. im leaning towards the optimus one p500 of LG

  • Samsung Galaxy 5 Review

    Awesome…Thanks for review, i think this is the cheapest android mobile phone.

  • Pingback: Huawei Ideos Specs, Photos | Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines' Longest-running Technology Blog()

  • Pingback: Huawei Ideos Android phone set to arrive early next year - TechRunner()

  • roy

    great review of the phone. i’m using it now. i did a short review of this in another site but yours is well said. samsung announce in a blog that their will be an update to froyo by december and i’m hoping that it will give this little android a push to speed and more importantly,the ability to free up space in phone memory and transfer it to SD. just want to say something about the LG optimus one. it will not be a GSM phone. that’s what i read in other sites. i was hoping that they will make one. about the experia x8, it will be on the same price range as the samsung galaxy i5503. but i hate the colors. i like my phone black, not white.

  • roy

    oops.. wrong mistake ako sa info about the LG optimus one. actually its LG optimus P500 ata.. my mistake.. ehehe..

  • Pingback: Huawei Ideos Android phone set to arrive early next year | iAndroid()

  • andre

    Wow you got great battery life. Mine just life for around 12 hours with data and push always on (HSDPA), even i never use it for make a phone call or sms. Offcourse i’ve got this phone brand new frsh from the box, my friend also experience the same, even an experia x8 which my friend have too.

    • Calvin

      well i would say wifi and data will really drain its battery fast.

      • andre

        Galaxy S have their offical standalone desktop charger. I hope Samsung will make one for galaxy 5. I think i need one extra battery and offcourse a desktop charger.

  • Lance

    Thanks for this review. I just bought it last weekend. Maybe I should not expect the battery life to last that long.

  • http://Gmail Amit

    There is no front camera in galaxy 5 for video calling…. this is really a big drawback for 3G phone.

    • Calvin

      well the galaxy 5 is not marketed to people who would make video calls. get the galaxy S instead. :)

  • Maibritt

    Do you have to be on the internet to access the calendar?

  • andre

    i see an email from samsung indonesia that posted in android-indonesia froum that they said Galaxy 5 will have Froyo soon.

    this is the link :

    I have contact via phone call, For a few moment Froyo for Galaxy 5 not available in all samsung indonesia service center, because they still test it, they told me right now only Samsung Kelapa Gading have it.

  • alien_ako

    how can i get the mac address? thanks

  • rod

    hi sir. so far ano po yung mga glitches na nakita mo sa unit? thank u sir.

    • Adonis54

      No glitches so far, you just might want to subscribe to one of those unlimited broadband plans to maximize your use of the phone. It is designed to keep you connected all the time, so emails, chats, tend to popup just like messages in real time.

      It’s a great phone given it is only an entry level for the android phones

  • raymond

    hi sir. so far ano po yung mga glitches na nakikita niyo or na-experience niyo sa unit? thanks po sir.

  • Orj

    Hey, how do you perform a multiple entry delete in the phonebook for this phone? And how do you upload phonebooks and messages in a CSV format? Thanks!!!

  • harold

    i’m torn between two phones.

    HTC Wildfire or Galaxy 5.

    Which do you think is better? Thanks!


    Globe is offering Galaxy 5 free on plan 1799 and add 6900 on plan 500.

    • Calvin

      both are the same in terms of performance. wildfire looks better while galaxy 5 is more affordable.

    • Mark

      Hi Caloy

      Just got my Galaxy 5 2 days ago for 7’990 on a mall sale, Here’s the thing it’s my first time to use a Smart Phone and really my phone is still a total virgin since there is still no apps or any scandal videos on it, I can’t connect to wifi or gprs do i need to go to globe to reconfigure my phone? cheers..

      • Calvin

        should be automatic. your phone can see wireless networks but just can’t connect to them? have you tried using it on a free or open wifi?

  • GRD

    Hi, just purchased my galaxy 5 last Sunday. Battery lasts only 2 days max and wifi isn’t even on the whole time. I only turn on my wifi when i’m downloading apps from the market or browsing. Why why why? Where do I change settings for data and push if these are the culprit?

    Thanks so much, very informative review here which convinced me to get the galaxy 5 instead of optimus one. Any tip on prolonging my phone’s battery life would be most welcome though. :)

    • Suzy

      I am going to buy this phone sometime in the next week, sounds just like I want, love the review, thanks!
      The battery does sound a bit hopeless, but charging every night is not a problem for me if need be anyway.

    • charina

      sana may sale ulit….. pki inform nmn po ako

  • Doodles

    Just bought 2 Samsung Galaxy 5 yesterday at MOA – one day sale (each for me and my wife)at P7,990. I am liking it so far.

    • Calvin

      wow congrats for getting it cheap! :)

    • alterity

      I got mine in Indonesia for Rp2 million. Can’t complain.

  • New User

    Hi. How do you activate the Swype feature when texting? I know I have turned it on because everything was checked and I even went through its quick tutorial, but when I’m back to the Message box, I can’t figure out how to switch to Swype? :(

    • Calvin

      click on the message box and hold it, a menu should pop up with swype option.

      • New User

        uh, thanks! :)

  • Luis

    I bought one. I5503
    the performance is great but the battery lasts for only 24 hours…
    What do you recommend me to do with this matter?

  • http://yahoo odheng23

    hello there just purchased the fon yesterday, medyo nangangapa pa..hmmm y is it i can’t download the apps in samsung apps.when connected to the pc. it says it is not supported, does it mean i can only dl apps thru android market not thru samsung apps…?

    • Calvin

      what samsung app are you downloading? maybe the app was made for samsung galaxy s and its huge screen. that’s the limitation of phones with small-screen. some apps can’t be downloaded or won’t work properly.

  • Christian Mark

    How can I install themes in my Galaxy 5? And is it true that the so-called Froyo update for Samsung Galaxy 5 will now support multi-touch?

    • Calvin

      eclair already supports multitouch, it’s the device that don’t.

    • rey casas

      sir, i have read some review of this phone having problems on text messaging…it says that a text from one contact will be repeatedly sent…is this true?

      • Calvin

        Can’t really say but i Never experienced it.

  • Jay, Cofused Jay

    Hey there! I’m so very confused to make a decision to buy my first android phone. Galaxy 5 is my first love, But when I peep into the two year from now, I see that this phone is gonna be so meaningless. I don’t think it’ll anyhow support Gingerbread (2.3) & can’t even think about Honeycomb (3.0) versions of Android. And worse than it, it’s QVGA screen!
    But I don’t wanna go for LG Optimus One.

    The reason I want an Android phone is apps like (Official) Twitter App., Tumblr App., Facebook App. & stuff Does it, even-if it’s got QVGA Screen, supports these Apps?
    And even though this Godforsaken phone supports them, for how long? I mean, these apps get updated constantly, and after a span of time, they’ll say, “Sorry to the dudes running on 2.1/2.2, you our website, right?”

    These thoughts make me go for Optimus One.

    So, I’d be greatful of you Calvin if ya help me out in here?
    Thanks :)

    • Calvin

      yes, you’re absolutely correct. if you want your phone to be future-proof even for just a year or two then the Galaxy 5 is not for you. But you have to spend more. Why did you think Optimus One will solve your problem? Go big. Think HTC phones. The Desire is a capable phone that would really go the distance.
      However, if it’s just going to be your first Android phone. Meaning there’s going to be a second one in the near future, the Galaxy 5 or Optimus One would do.

      • Jay

        There will be a second one, but not soon. Perhaps, I’m thinking too much about future. And It wouldn’t be that useless! So, yeah! Its all up to me to.
        Thanks, Calvin, for helping me out!
        I’ll go with Galaxy 5 if you can just confirm that it does support those Twitter, Facebook Apps.

        Thanks again! :)

        • Calvin

          yes the Galaxy 5 can support those apps. :)

          • Jay, Relieved Jay

            Wow! Thank you very much, Calvin. I’m so relieved to hear it. :)

  • Vash

    hi sir, i was just wondering, i have no idea about smart phone or any of these android stuffs.

    where could i download apps for the galaxy 5 when the android market isn’t available yet in the philippines? is it?

    honestly i dont have the phone yet but i’m really searching some comments through the net to get some advices if this phone is worth it more than a nokia 5800.

    please gimme some advice 😀

    • Calvin

      only paid android apps are not available in the philippines. but there’s lots of free apps that are really good. it’s a decent phone if you want to get your hands on android without spending too much.

  • kartik

    it many a times swithes off on its own
    its not that fast also
    the apps should be allowed 2 be stored in the sd card
    camera doesnt ve a flash
    it should be upradeable from eclair to froyo or a better one

  • aj

    hi.. do you know how to delete phonebook contacts using that phone? Thanks.

  • Frances

    OMG. Very awesome and intelligent review! I LIKE IT. ♥
    I’m only a freshmen highschool student and I’m planning to buy this phone when I have enough money. I was thinking how many months will I be saving money if I’ll save P20 a day? I’m gonna be starting in the month of March. Thank you.
    Anyways, for you who made this review, I SUPER LOVE IT :)

  • Jeje

    So which do you think is better? Samsung Galaxy 5 or Samsung Wave 525?

  • Burger_0180

    I try to ask a samsung store here in marikina for the froyo upgrade. they said that galaxy 5 cant handle the froyo upgrade thats why they wont upgrade my phone is it true about galaxy 5 being laggy and always crash after upgrading it to froyo?

    • Calvin

      im not sure if that’s true because the Galaxy mini which also has a 600MHz processor is running Froyo. Can’t say if it will be laggy or always crashing.

  • point2point

    where did you get the data and push?

  • eu

    got it for a week now. cannot secure gprs connection.

    any idea how? for globe tel user. thanks

  • Thiyagu

    My galaxy 5 not working in video calling i have already installed skype but not working video calling it will supports only audio call

    • Calvin

      of course. it doesn’t support video call. it doesn’t even have a front camera.

  • emjay

    Hi Calvin,

    just wanna ask, if ever I am to buy an android phone for a start,

    which one is better? The samsung galaxy 5, samsung galaxy mini, or the LG Optimus One?

    I’m quite torn and confused because honestly, i really don’t know which one is better.

    Thanks… ^^

  • Vince

    Good Day,

    Hello Mr. Calvin, i just want to ask you im comparing the samsung wave 525 with galaxy 5, which is phone is better? coz im planning to buy it this friday… but im really confused of this two phones… wave 525 has larger screen but galaxy is only 2.8″ right? which is better in connecting to WIFI?

  • Mina

    Which is a better device (overall) the galaxy 5 or the hauwei u8150??

    • Calvin

      speed’s the same although samsung has its touchwiz ui (huawei has generic) so it might slow down the unit a teeny bit. huawei has longer battery life. samsung has swype input.

      • dotty

        Huawei longer battery life? dont think so according to the specs Samsung has longer battery life but Huawei has more inside than Samsung.

        Wi-fi tethering
        Wi-fi new N connection
        3.2mp cam
        adobe flash support(but on low-end processor?)
        and a gpu

  • mon

    need some help im having problem on my galaxy 5.. bought it last day .ive loaded 300 pesos worth of prepaid card and only sent 1 sms and last time i check my load is gone.. i cant even check my prepaid balance.. anyone who has the same problem??

    • Calvin

      i don’t think it’s a phone problem. call help support of the telco you’re using.

  • Ma Malou

    help, i could not use our office wife as our internet server has a proxy. i cant seem to set it on my galaxy 5. is there a way out of it?

  • Audi_tour09

    HI there Calvin..i own a galaxy 5 running eclaire. mine cant connect to android market when im connected t the net via GPRS. but i can open google tru my browser. i could hardly connect to public wifi. when i open the calendar, and try to register to google, it says that “it cant connect to google server”. why? it gets me very frustrated because i cant maximize the use of some of the widgets. please help..

    • Calvin

      i don’t know what’s causing the poor connection. connecting to Wifi should be straightforward and that’s the most reliable way to sync stuff from google. can you try connecting via 3G? if it’s still not working maybe you should bring it back to a samsung shop and have them test the WiFi connectivity.

    • aika

      if your telco is Globe, try changing the APN to

      worked for me.

  • JP

    is there any mall who’s offering a sale for galaxy 5? i really want that smart phone even though that they say it has a poor battery life..

    • jm

      samsung shops offer galaxy 5 for P7990 until april 17.

  • kungfushoes123

    i got my galaxy 5 last monday, i have a problem its battery life. The Full Charge can only last maybe 1-2hours when using apps, and 4-5 hours for texting. can you please help me. thanks

    • Calvin

      that’s bad. have it checked.

    • JicoRomer

      I am getting Globe’s My Super Plan and they are giving this phone for free. At first I chose the “HUAWEI IDEOS” but then the representative said he has a better offer. He will give me “SAMSUNG I5500” for free with plan 599. Now I am torn between the two. Could help me choose? Which is better? And which is more expensive?


      • Calvin

        samsung is more expensive. ideos has better screen but the i5500 has swype which is good to have for small phones.

  • langkawi

    galaxy5 [i5503] all app store/save in phone memory why?

    • Calvin

      are you on android 2.2 already? 2.2 allows saving of apps into SD… BUT… not all apps are 2.2 ready so they would still save in phone memory.

      • akire

        agree with langkawi. why is that all apps are stored in phone memory.. is there any way to move the apps to SD.? thanks.

        • Calvin

          pag android 2.2 na pwede na sa sd card yung apps although not all apps are capable of doing so.

  • aika

    When is samsung giving the go signal on upgrading the i5503 to 2.2 here in the phils.? i tried to upgrade using kies but it said This version of the device cannot be updated. I don’t wanna go do it myself and risk it getting bricked.

  • angel_co

    I plan to buy this galaxy 5 i5503, this would be my first android phone. I hope this works for me, I’ve read the reviews and it seems to be a great phone, I was planning to buy xperia x8 but when I saw this I think this would be a better phone for me.

    • Calvin

      you’re in luck, there’s a sale going on for samsung galaxy devices.

    • pi_dave

      There is something you should know about before purchasing the Galaxy 5.

      I went to the the service center on Ortigas Avenue and the store in Megamall and both told me that the operating system could not be upgraded. That is the only reason I bought mine and both places told me the same thing.

      If you hear otherwise please let me know.

      • Calvin

        thanks for sharing dave!

    • asadevcorp

      Happy with Android phone Galaxy 5..really LOve it!!!!

  • jm

    i am planning to buy this phone but would like to know first if the music player will exit if u access create message? im having this kind of problem using an LG phone. thanks. i would really appreciate your response.

    • Calvin

      nope. music will play in the background as you do other things.

      • asha

        naido-download ba dito ang instagram??

  • aj

    hi.. glad to see this blog. I just bought my samsung galaxy 5 i5503 last January. I bought it for 9.5k.. But as I stroll the mall last week, the price is now around 8.5k to 8.9k.

    I really love this phone right now and so far I’m still enjoying its features.. :)

  • Ruel Gomez

    HI! does this unit has a video player? i can’t play my video files, i can’t find the right video player to download. thanks.

    • Calvin

      yes it has pero yung mga low resolution videos lang. ano ba tinatry mong iplay? try getting the summer player to play avi files pero it won’t be fun. hindi kaya ng processor yung mga typical avis mo.

      • Aj Banda

        As far as I know it comes with a default media player that plays mp4 and 3gp. As for AVIs i usually use another app from the market

      • allan

        can this phone play flv files?

        • Calvin

          not without the help of an app. but even then, it might not be that smooth.

  • Bob

    I recently bought Samsung galaxy 5. I am having problems with the text messages. How do I delete individual text messages? It seems that I can only delete all the messages in a thread. Is there a way to delete only particular text messages?

    • Calvin

      press the message you want to delete and wait for the menu to appear. There’s an option there to delete that particular message.

      • zhay

        hi.. bat gnun d ko mbura msg. huhu pa help po

        • Calvin

          click mo menu andun yung option

  • JiaoTakamkemari

    Can we configured it to become a wifi hotspot? I was planning to share its internet connection with my laptop so I don’t have to bring along a broadband stick. This phone has no tethering capability that can share its internet connection using wifi. Maybe there are some options out there for this phone?

  • AngeL

    i am having problems regarding the battery status. As soon as i unplugged it from the charger indicating a 100% charged battery, the battery status appear to decrease down to 98% instantly. Other than that, when charging the battery from about 4% remaining, after 5 minutes of charging it, it already reached 72%. i’ve already changed my battery from where i bought it but still with the same problem .. help please . . :(

  • bandit

    Will this phone work in the US? Am planning to use it as a back up phone when travelling.

  • teach

    does it have dictionary and lock code like the nokia phones?

  • Macey

    hey! im still trying to look for this phone but it seems like i can only find is galaxy mini, mas kailangan ko kasi ng long battery. some samsung shops wala na ako makita. thanks!

    • Calvin

      luma na kasi. get the mini na lang eto yung pumalit eh.

      • carlo

        bt 2ng saken lage narerestart kpag ndi mo gnagamit ambilis p malobat 1day lng pg nkastandby restart cya ng restart tpos umiunit help me nmn.

  • ching

    hi, can you teach me how to download e-book on my i5503?

    • Calvin

      search for ebooks then download it on your PC before transferring it to our phone’s SD card.

    • Aj Banda

      you can also search for an app in the android market to do the job

  • Kamille

    Hi! How can I use print screen on this phone?

  • incess tamin

    my dad brought me this samsung galaxy5 fone. but when im on a wifi zone why is it that i cannot access my facebook account? on the other side can i use it’s applications without any wifi access? just like youtube, facebook and google?

    • Calvin

      wrong password maybe? or try to download the latest facebook app.

    • Mikaela

      nope. you always need an internet connection if you want to access your apps like those stated above. :)

  • lei

    how can i transfer my apps from phone to sd card coz im having a problem with the phone memory of my i5503 it is almost full, i cant install more games and apps…

  • kierwyn

    what is now the price of this phone?

  • kierwyn

    what is now the price of this phone???

    • http://yahoo mhike35

      sir/ mam i have one like this unit,my wife use it only for 2 months.and we are selling it for only 7,500 NEGOTIABLE PA PO….. TXT OR CALL 09229289869

  • jenny

    how much is the samsung i5503 in the market? it the same with i5500?..which is much better?..

  • ashley

    may problem po ako sa wifi, mahina yung sagap nya.. Sa galaxy 5 ko ba yung problem oh yung mismong wifi?? Mas malakas pa kasi sagap ng Corby kesa sa phone ko. Please reply. Thank you!

  • yncaw

    I saw this phone on abenson website and the price is just P3,950. WTF??

    here’s the ad:

    • Mikaela

      IKR!! i was shocked and kinda felt bad to see na ang baba nalang ng value niya. anyway, that was 2 years ago na rin when i bought mine pero nakakalula lang isipin na ang bilis ng magadvance ng tech ng android phones specially with new brands pushing their way to the market.

      I love my phone. I just wish i could some more internal memory. Rooting could be a solution but MX said it isan’t advisable. Just gotta pick my apps wisely then.

      • Mikaela

        watta. I had lots of typos. paki-understand nalang. ^_^

  • kimi

    hi.. my mom bought this on 2nd hand.. i have this since july2012.. and is still in good condition. however sometimes when my fone have this, i so called it tantrums, it suddenly resets.. and sometimes will be empty batt even though i just finished it charging.. and one thing.. i dont have samsung charger for this. i use different brand of chargers but doesnt affect its battery life.. i think the reason why the batt of this doesnt last for a day cause my intrnet is on 24/7 and i use diff apps..
    just sharing my experience wth this wonderful phone.. nd im still loving it. ^_^

  • jugar online flappy bird

    I read this post fully regarding the comparison of newest and preceding
    technologies, it's amazing article.