Sun Micro’s Changing of the Guard

The longtime CEO and founder of Sun Microsystems, Scott McNealy has been succeeded by the current COO Jonathan Schwartz after 22 years at the helm. This is part of the company’s succesion planning as McNealy now moves up to Chairman of Sun Microsystems and Sun Federal Inc.

Under the baby faced McNealy, Sun Micro Systems became a powerhouse as a vendor of both hardware and software for the enterprise (Solaris O/S, SPARC chip and the Sun servers). Although Gosling, Sheridan and Naughton are the fathers of the Java Programming Language, I have to say that McNealy made it all possible by giving the go signal for Project Green that spawned the language. He also helped popularize Sun’s slogan;”The Network Is The Computer.” Sun Microsystems was also close to buying or merging with Applea couple of times, but the deals always fell through.

After the bust of 2001, Sun Microsystems was never really able to recover from it’s previous gains during the bubble since the sales of it’s hardware slowed.

CNN Article here

Bio of Scott McNealyhere

Official Sun Statement here


  1. Speaking of: did you know that there is no fully-owned Sun Microsystems here in the Philippines? The local one is a joint venture.

    They have an event today at the Shangri-La Makati – Java in Manila.

  2. Just follow the instructions, every person can fix these problems.
    Flat paint is the best choice for hiding rough spots and surface imperfections, which
    makes it perfect for ceilings and walls. A new toilet will give the bathroom
    an up-date, sleek touch.


  1. Bill Gates to ride out into the sunset -- Pinoy Tech Blog - The Philippines’ Premier Technology Blog - [...] Almost a month back we had Scott Mcnealy of Sun Microsystems moving out of the CEO position at Sun. …

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>