WGT Philippines 2008 Winners

The first World GameMaster Tournament here in the Philippines has just concluded last Sunday, Oct 26. 2008 at the new SM Marikina.

For those of you who don’t know, this Asus-sponsored game tournament pits players from all over the country to compete in 3 gaming events, DOTA, Counterstike and Need for Speed: Pro Street.


The team who won the DOTA event, Team Mineski from Manila, received a whopping P75,000 in cash. 2nd place was Team eXs from Cebu who won P50,000 and 3rd place Team Theos brought home P25,000.

For the 5-player team CounterStrike event, Mineski CS from Manila got 1st place (P75,000), Team MOTV from Cebu 2nd (P50,000) and Bratz.X02 from Davao bagged the 3rd place (P25,000).

Lastly, the Need for Speed winners Israel Magante at 1st (P15,000), Darnel Tamundong at 2nd (P10,000) and Jessie Bello at 3rd (P5,000).

Congratulations to the winners! Too bad they will not be sent to the real World Gamemaster Tournament where other countries will be competing. Maybe next year though if this tournament continues to be a big hit among our gamers here.

For more technology news and gadget reviews, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram
  • nice tournament.. hope i can join some.

  • Guys, talks are already on for the WCG 2009 elims. See you at the DOTA games in Megamall Cyberzone soon!